July 23, 2024



Armenia, officially the Republic of Armenia, is a country in the South Caucasus region of Eurasia. Its capital is Yerevan.

Armenia is a unitary, multi-party state, founding member of the Commonwealth of Independent States, member of the United Nations since 1992, member of the Council of Europe since 2001 and also of other international organisations.

In what regards the respect of freedom of association, of peaceful assembly and of expression, according to the 2018 CIVICUS Monitor Platform, the status of civic space in Armenia is  characterized as ‘Obstructed’. More information is available at: https://monitor.civicus.org/country/armenia/ .