May 24, 2024



Greece is a country located in Southern and Southeast Europe. Athens is the nation’s capital and largest city, followed by Thessaloniki.

A founding member of the United Nations, Greece was the tenth member to join the European Communities (precursor to the European Union) and has been part of the Eurozone since 2001. It is also a member of numerous other international institutions, including the Council of Europe, the
North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), the World Trade Organization (WTO), the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE), and the Organisation Internationale de la Francophonie (OIF).

Greece is also part of the Black Sea Synergy, the EU framework which promotes cooperation and economic development in the Black Sea Region, along with Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Georgia, Romania, the Republic of Moldova, Russia, Turkey and Ukraine.