January 19, 2020



Ukraine is the largest country entirely within Europe. Its capital and largest city is Kiev.

Ukraine is a unitary state composed of 24 oblasts (provinces) and a city with special status, and a semi-presidential republic. The country is part of the United Nations, OSCE since 1992 and the Council of Europe since 1995. It also has close ties with NATO and envisages European integration.

The status of civic space – defined by the CIVICUS Monitor Platform as the respect of freedom of association, of peaceful assembly and of expression – in Ukraine is regarded as ‘Obstructed’. More information is available here: https://monitor.civicus.org/country/ukraine/ .