January 24, 2021

Political map of Armenia

According to the Constitution adopted in 1995 and considerably amended in 2005, Armenia is a presidential-parliamentary republic. Recent constitutional changes have been agreed with the Venice Commission of the Council of Europe, and the president’s authority has been limited in some areas. In particular, this refers to the restriction of the right to dissolve the single-chamber National Assembly and to form a government.


The ruling coalition consists of three parties: the Republican Party of Armenia, Prosperous Armenia and Legal State. The Republicans, headed by the incumbent President Serzh Sargsyan control key positions in the government and keep the Prime Minister’s seat. Prosperous Armenia, whose leader Gagik Tsarukyan is one of the richest people in the country, hold more posts within the social area, such as the Ministry of Health, Youth and Sports as well as the Ministry of Labor and Social Affairs. Legal State manages the Ministry of Emergency and the Ministry of Transport and Communications. In addition, the party’s leader Artur Bagdasarian is the Secretary of the Council of National Security.

At present, fundamental changes or force majeure circumstances in Armenia are possible only with the active involvement of external players. As of today, the major foreign players (Brussels, Washington and Moscow) are satisfied with the fully developed domestic political paradigm. They understand that direct or indirect support of Robert Kocharian and his aspirations to return to power could eventually result in a severe destabilization of the situation, weakening of the pillars of government and, at the end of the day, the loss of current level of strength by any of the other power centers.

Source: http://www.easternpartnership.org/publication/politics/2011-03-10/political-map-armenia



Related posts

DCFTAs with Armenia, Georgia and Moldova to be...


Open Call for Applications: Social Leader Forum 20...


Call for Participants: The 10th Assembly of the...